Appearances

Here are the preliminary dates for Dani’s book tour for Hourglass.  Keep checking back as more cities, dates, and details are added.

 

Thursday, April 13, 2017

Madison, CT

R.J. Julia Booksellers at 7:00 pm

 

Dani kicks off the Hourglass book tour at one of the country’s great independent bookstores.

 

Find out more

Saturday, April 15, 2017

Washington Depot, CT

Hickory Stick Bookshop at 4:00 pm

Find out more

Monday, April 17, 2017

New York City

Corner Bookstore, 1313 Madison Avenue at 6:00 pm

Find out more

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Brooklyn, NY

The Powerhouse Arena, 28 Adams Street (Corner of Adams & Water Street @ the Archway) Brooklyn at 7:00 pm

Find out more

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Maplewood, NJ

[words] Bookstore, 179 Maplewood at 7:30 pm

Find out more

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Coral Gables, FL

Books & Books 265 Aragon Avene at 8:00 pm

Find out more

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Palm Beach, FL

Palm Beach Book Festival at 9:00 am

PANEL: You Go Girl! –  The writing of MEMOIR vs BIOGRAPHY 

Dani joins authors Leslie Bennetts (Joan Rivers’ biography: Last Girl Before Freeway) and Geri Hirshey  (Helen Gurley Brown biography: Not Pretty Enough)

Moderator: Patricia Marx

Find out more

Sunday, April 23, 2017

Los Angeles

LA Times Festival of Books

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Woodstock, NY

Woodstock Bookfest at 2:00 pm

Dani will be discussing memoir with Martha Frankel, Elizabeth Lesser (Marrow: A Love Story), and Stéphane Gerson (Disaster Falls).

 

The signature panel and closing event of the festival is Memoir A Go-Go, led by its moderator, memoirist and executive director of the festival, Martha Frankel. She’s a master interviewer who asks unexpected questions, often with even more unexpected answers. This is an event you don’t want to miss.

Find out more

Monday, May 1, 2017

Darien, CT

Darien Library, 1441 Post Road at 7:00 pm

Dani will be appearing with Andrew McCarthy, who will be reading from and discussing his debut novel, Just Fly Away.

Sunday, May 7, 2017

Santa Monica, CA

Diesel Bookstore, Brentwood Country Mart at 3:00 pm

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Corte Madera, CA

Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Berkeley, CA

Mrs. Dalloway's 2904 College Avenue at 7:30 pm

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Seattle, WA

Elliott Bay Bookstore, 1521 Tenth Avenue at 7:00 pm

Friday, May 12, 2017

Portland, OR

Powell's City of Books

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Providence, RI

Goat Hill - Providence Athenaeum 251 Benefit Street at 4:00 pm

Goat Hill presents bestselling, award winning writers Andre Dubus III (TOWNIE, THE HOUSE OF SAND AND FOG) and Dani Shapiro (STILL WRITING, HOURGLASS) in discussion with Ann Hood on the art of writing memoir. Since both of these writers are also novelists, they will tell us when a writer opts for memoir instead of fiction, discuss the delicate nature of writing memoir, and share the stories that inspired their memoirs as well as describe their writing process to us.  Following the discussion there will be ample time for questions from the audience, a reception, and a book signing.

Find out more

Monday, May 22, 2017

Brookline, MA

Brookline Booksmith at 7:00 pm

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Portland, ME

Print Bookstore, 274 Congress St at 7:00 pm